Sep 22, 2008

Only thrill and excitement filled the air as 148 participants from the 37 teams out of 48 schools that confirmed participation, moved and ran gaspingly from checkpoint to another checkpoint in gathering data and observing pattern within 30 minutes during the elimination round in the 1st SHARP-MTG Math Trail and Problem Solving Competition held simultaneously in two venues, Chiang Kai Shek College and Las Pinas East National High School last September 20, 2008.

The math trail was a new competition format ever introduced in the Philippines. Though new, yet most participants had adjusted themselves so quickly by scheming effective strategies in dealing with the time-pressured contest. Indeed, the name of the game was really teamwork plus mathematical acumen.

These 16 schools will meet again on October 4, 2008 to vie for the title, the first winner of the 1st SHARP-MTG Math Trail and Problem Solving Competition. The exact time and venue of the Final Round will be announced through a letter and in this website. The schools that eased themselves to the national finals are:

Ateneo de Manila High School

Jay Pangilinan
Jose Daniel Berba
Kevin Christopher Calbagan
Mikhail Llado
Canossa Academy, Calamba

Kim Oliveros
Hiroshi Ueki
Misaki Ueki
Herbie Bella
Chiang Kai Shek College

Henry Jefferson Morco
Matthew Ng
Andrew Sia
Ervin Federick Dy
Colegio San Agustin, Binan, Laguna

Charles Kyle Mupas
Luis Antonio Somera
Eloisa Mapilot
Jeffrey Maravilla
Colegio San Agustin, Makati

Danielle Regala
Marvin Obrero
Wan Ju Kang
Katrina Tiambeng
Gideon Academy

Gailyne Lim
John Russel Virata
Seung Jun Lee
Ericka Mojares
Grace Christian College

Sean Timothy Cheng
Jeremy Jance Yap
Gisel Ong
Aileen Giselle Chua
La Salle Greenhills

Alfonso Baldomero Ramos
Joshua Daniel Cadiz
Karl Myron Duque
Kerish Villegas
Las Pinas East National High School

Joanna Kristelle Limbo
Matthew Borlagda
Karen Osila
Geronimo Basada
Philippine Cultural High School

Lean Franz Yao
Hubert Cua
Emily Sysim
Robert Neil Leong
Saint Jude Catholic School

Vance Mikhail Uy
Arielle Elise Chua
Carmela Antoinette Lao
Audrey Celine Lao
Saint Mary’s College of Quezon City

Emmanuel Luis Mangahas
Pauline Madarang
John Oswald Uy
Linear Larry Lagamayo
Saint Paul College, Pasig

Angeline Banigued
Geraldine Banigued
Clara Eufracia Victorino
Fiona Margarita Aytona
San Beda College, Alabang

Casey Oliver Turingan
Jaztin Adrian Mojica
Menandro Isagani Daella Jr.
Rigel Stewart Espiritu
Southville International School and Colleges

Kim Young Hoon
An Kwang Min
An Thae Hoon
Choi Nak Hee
Xavier School

Joseph Chan
Andres Claparols
Mark Terence Co
Armand Gozali

Having experienced a combination of easy and tough problems in the elimination round, the national qualifiers have more to expect, this time with no “give-away” problems. Therefore, this is one question that remains unanswered to this day, “Which school will end up the winner in the Final Round?” The answer still remains to be seen

Copyright 2008 Mathematics Trainers' Guild, Philippines. All Rights Reserved
Powered by Cid Systems Solution Services