Warning: Use of undefined constant mtg_auto_load - assumed 'mtg_auto_load' (this will throw an Error in a future version of PHP) in /home/mtgphilo/public_html/apanel/class/loader.php on line 5
MTG Philippines

Warning: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable in /home/mtgphilo/public_html/news.php on line 25



Aug 06, 2005

Filipino students under the tutelage of the Mathematics Trainers’ Guild, Philippines (MTG) continued their winning streak in international math competitions.

This time, two high school students won bronze medals in the Kaohsiung Invitational World Youth Mathematics Intercity Competition held from August 2 to 5 in Kaohsiung City, Taiwan.

Emmanuel Plan of the Ateneo de Manila University High School and Mark Benedict Tan of Xavier School emerged as the top Filipino finishers in the contest, which drew 136 contestants from 14 countries and territories.

Besides the Philippines, other countries and territories which participated in the contest were Canada, Singapore, South Africa, Hong Kong, India, Indonesia, Macau, Thailand, Kaohsiung, Taipei, North Taiwan, South Taiwan and Fuzhou in China.

The Philippine delegation was headed by Dr. Simon Chua, MTG president. The MTG, Philippines an organization of math teachers, trained the high school students months before the competition.

The MTG is now on its tenth year of training Filipino students to compete in local and international math competitions.

The latest achievement of Filipino students comes on the heels of the country’s successful participation in the Po Leung Kuk 9th Primary Mathematics World Contest (PMWC) held in Hong Kong last July where seven elementary students, all trained by the MTG, won a silver and six bronze medals and Metro Manila Team even ranked 2nd in the team contest event.

The Filipino team leaders and deputy team leaders in the Taiwan competition were Dr. Eduardo dela Cruz Jr., dean of the Institute of Education and Normal of Arellano University; Roberto Degolacion, MTG executive director; Eugenia Guerra, MTG secretary; Isidro Aguilar, education supervisor of Taguig and Pateros; Virginia Penafuerte, Las Pinas division superintendent; Jose Manresa Espanol and Ciedelle Purificacion Yu-hico of Philippine Science High School (Main Campus).

Other students who were part of the four Philippine teams in the Kaohsiung math contest were Alvin Belleza of Ateneo de Manila University High School, Chiara Rosario Lanuza of the Philippine Science High School, Washington Co of Oro Grace Christian School, Emerson Escolar of Grace Christian High School, Christopher Bhojwani of Grace Christian High School, Kyna Elyse Cheu of Sacred Heart School-Jesuit, Francesca Choi of Chiang Kai Shek College, Melissa Dy of Chiang Kai Shek College, Jeffrey Go of Xavier School, Arnold Lindros Lau of Xavier School, Calvin Bernard Lim of St. Stephen's High School, Luke Wicent Sy of Hope Christian High School, Daniel Andrew Tan of Grace Christian High School and Raymond Tan of Jubilee Christian Academy.

Copyright 2008 Mathematics Trainers' Guild, Philippines. All Rights Reserved
Powered by Cid Systems Solution Services