Warning: Use of undefined constant mtg_auto_load - assumed 'mtg_auto_load' (this will throw an Error in a future version of PHP) in /home/mtgphilo/public_html/apanel/class/loader.php on line 5
MTG Philippines

Warning: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable in /home/mtgphilo/public_html/news.php on line 25



Aug 13, 2005

The Philippine Teams through the leadership of Mathematics Trainers’ Guild (MTG) won major awards in the 5th Invitational World Youth Mathematics Inter-City Competition held in Macau Special Administrative Region of the Republic of China on August 2-6, 2004.

There were 27 teams coming from different countries like South Africa, India, Macau, Singapore, Hongkong, Taiwan, China and the Philippines. A student of Trinity Christian School, Bacolod City Jon Henry Ma won the Gold Medal (Individual Contest) and he ranked 2nd to the highest among the 108 participants worldwide.

Five (5) MTG trainees are recipients of the silver medals for the individual contest namely:
John Garret Go of St. Stephen’s High School,
Charles William Ang of Chiang Kai Shek College,
Sam Christian Lee of Chiang Kai Shek College,
Jimmy Ong of Bacolod Tay Tung High School and
Elvis Chua of Zamboanga Chong Hua High School.

While eleven (11) participants from the Philippines also reaped Bronze Medals in the individual contest. They are: Jason Sim of Chiang Kai Shek College,
Kyna Elyse Cheu of Sacred Heart School Jesuit,
Jerwin Alliguy of UNO High School,
Miguel Isidro Cari?o of Ateneo de Manila High School,
John Carlo Clerigo of St. Benedict,
Abegail Ceralde of Zamboanga Chong Hua High School,
Daryl Jonathan Lee of Chiang Kai Shek College,
Chiara Rosario Lanuza and
Jan David Monzon of Philippine Science High School,
Richmond Saavedra of Zamboanga Chong Hua High School and Johann Dy of St. Stephen’s High School.

While, Aiza Hung of Philippine Cultural High School Annex, Agustine Elmar Tejada of Ateneo de Manila High School and Josef Glenn Jumilla of Notre Dame Sian School of Marbel received the Merit Awards.

The Visayas Team composed of:
Ma, Cheu, Ong and Go also won 2nd place in the Group Competition and

the Mindanao Team composed of:
Chua, Ceralde, Monzon and Alliguy was declared 3rd Place in the Group Competition.

While the Metro Manila A, Metro Manila B and Luzon Teams received the MERIT AWARDS in the Group Competition.

The Philippine participants to the international mathematics competition were trained under the leadership of the Mathematics Trainers’ Guild (MTG), Philippines with the unwavering President Dr. Simon L. Chua and concurrent school Principal of Zamboanga Chong Hua High School.

The Philippine Delegations accompanied by the Team Leaders namely Mr. Roberto J. Degolacion (MTG, Office Director), Ms. Alice Asunsion (DOST, Chief Scholarship Division of Science Education Institute), Mrs. Precilla De Sagun (Mathematics Supervisor, DepEd-NCR), Mrs. Sanet Hipolito (Math Coordinator, Chiang Kai Shek College) and Dr. Simon L. Chua (MTG, President). Likewise, the Philippine teams were together also with the Deputy Team Leaders namely Mrs. Corazon Lanuza, Mrs. Jennifer Cheu, Mr. Mauro De Gulan (Science Supervisor, DepEd-NCR), Mrs. Lowela Mupas and Mrs. Myrna Agtarap (Retired Mathematics Supervisor, DepEd-NCR).

These remarkable accomplishments placed the Philippines at par with world-class mathematicians. Thus, this will only prove that the Philippine’s education is heeding to the call for global competitiveness.

Copyright 2008 Mathematics Trainers' Guild, Philippines. All Rights Reserved
Powered by Cid Systems Solution Services