Warning: Use of undefined constant mtg_auto_load - assumed 'mtg_auto_load' (this will throw an Error in a future version of PHP) in /home/mtgphilo/public_html/apanel/class/loader.php on line 5
MTG Philippines

Warning: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable in /home/mtgphilo/public_html/news.php on line 25



Aug 01, 2008

The Filipino kids did it again! This time it is not just one or two but seven participants of the Philippines’ four teams of 4 members each achieved a stunning perfect score in the individual competition in the Po Leung Kuk 12th Primary Math World Contest in Hong Kong held on July 11-16, 2008.

This math contest was participated in by 44 teams which include San Marcos, East California and Silicon Valley, USA; four teams each from the Philippines, Bulgaria, South Africa, Thailand, Taiwan, three teams from India, Hong Kong; two teams each from Malaysia, Indonesia and Singapore; seven teams from China and one team each from Macao and Mexico.

This impressively remarkable performance based in the excellent results easily paved a way for the Philippines to emerge for the first time ever as the overall champions. Philippine Teams B and D whose three members each obtained perfect scores were adjudged as the over-all champions, placing them on equal footing with the five other teams from Taiwan, Beijing-China, San Marcos-USA, Indonesia and Hong Kong.Furthermore, Philippine Team D was adjudged as the champion in the group team competition.

The seven perfect scorers are Hazel Abigail Lim (Hope Christian High School) of Philippine Team A while Keefe Collin Tan (St. Jude Catholic School), Neil Benjamin DT. Kho (San Beda College-Alabang) and Michael Brodeth (Colegio San Agustin-Makati) of Philippine Team B; Audrey Celine Lao (St. Jude Catholic School), Kenneth Co and Brendon Matthew Go both come from Xavier School belong to Philippine team D.

The other awardees who obtained the Silver or Second Honors are Justin Edric Yturzaeta of Jubilee Christian Academy (Phil team A), Isaiah Paolo A. Lee of Mother Goose School- Dagupan City (Phil team C) and Julius Vincent Sy of St. Stephen’s High School (Phil team C).

The Pinoy mathletes who were awarded Bronze of Third honors were Henry Jefferson Morco-Chiang Kai Shek College (Phil team D), Samuel Christian Ong- UNO High School (Phil team B), Deany Hendrick Cheng- Grace Christian High School (Phil team C) and Mikaela Angelina Uy, Seanne Daphne Ng of St. Jude Catholic School (Philippine Team A). Joelle Sophia Peña of St. Pedro Poveda College (Phil team C), also had contributed much for the success of the Philippine team.

The Philippine team was headed by the MTG president Dr. Simon Chua along with team leaders composed of Mr. Carlo Bryan Nerecena, Mr. Robert Degolacion and Mr. Anthony Ang while the deputy team leaders were Ms. Queenie Sarabia, Ms. Consesa Rapacon, Ms. Sheilla Lynn Diamse and Mr. Mark Ivan Roblas of DOST-SEI.

This amazing accomplishment of the young Filipino number wizards only reflects the passion of the Mathematics Trainers’ Guild, Philippines headed by its president Dr. Simon L. Chua whose unremitting dedication to uplift the Philippine mathematics education through participation in international competitions has always been his noble goal.

Copyright 2008 Mathematics Trainers' Guild, Philippines. All Rights Reserved
Powered by Cid Systems Solution Services