Warning: Use of undefined constant mtg_auto_load - assumed 'mtg_auto_load' (this will throw an Error in a future version of PHP) in /home/mtgphilo/public_html/apanel/class/loader.php on line 5
MTG Philippines

Warning: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable in /home/mtgphilo/public_html/news.php on line 25



Jul 11, 2009

Some top ranking Filipino mathletes that took the long journey to Durban, South Africa for the 10th Invitational World Youth Mathematics Intercity Competition (IWYMIC) held on July 5 to 10, 2009 had made homeruns after ending up winning in the team and individual contests. Participated by 56 teams from China, Thailand, Taiwan, Singapore, Hong Kong, Bulgaria, Indonesia, Canada, Australia, Korea, Iran, India, South Africa, Netherlands, Zimbabwe and Zambia, the Philippines sent 3 teams composing of 4 members each.

Equipped with math skills and trained to endure international math challenges, the 12-member Filipino participants had not only survived the pressure of the contest problems but also stood proudly among the world’s best math-gifted youths. Keeping focused during the competition, the Pinoy math wizards never relied on chances nor luck as they explored the contest papers but they leaned on the wealth of their math prowess.

Ending up winning bronze in the individual contest were Geraldine Baniqued of St. Paul College-Pasig, Zhen Rong Wu of Zamboanga Chong Hua High School, Vance Eldric Go of St. Jude Catholic School, John Russel Virata of Gideon Academy, Elvis Ayroso of Philippine Science High School and Matthew Chris Chan of St. Stephen’s High School.

Four Filipino whiz kids hooked the merit awards and they were Adrian Raphael Co of British School Manila (Incoming Grade 12), Ostin John Ong of Trinity Christian School, Bacolod , Arielle Elise Chua of St. Jude Catholic School, and Paolo Manuel iyulores of Ateneo de Manila High School. Moreover, Sarah Jane Cua of Pangasinan Universal Institute, Dagupan City who joined in the International Girls’ Team managed to grasp a merit award in the individual contest and 2nd-runner up in the team category. Other members who contributed to the strength of the Philippine teams were Hanz Vladimir Cabanes of Zamboanga Chong Hua High School and Janssen Kotah of Philippine Cultural College.

The Philippine Team A composed of Geraldine Banigued , Arielle Elise Chua, Russell Virata and Zhengrong was awarded 1st runner up while Philippine Team B whose members were Matthew Chris Chan, Adrian Raphael Co, Vance Eldric Go, and Ostin John Ong had shared the 2nd runner-up place with a Canadian Team. Furthermore, Philippine Team C making up of Elvis Jeremy Ayroso, Paolo Manuel Iyulores , Janssen Kotah and Hanz Vladimir Cabanes received the Merit Award. All the 3 teams also bagged 2nd-runner up in the Group Competition.

The whole Philippine delegates were headed by no less than the MTG President, Dr. Simon L. Chua. With him were Dr. Eduardo Dela Cruz, dean of the School of Education and Normal of Arellano University; Dr. Isidro Aguilar, supervisor of DepEd Taguig City, Mr. Rainier Ronda and Ms. Sheryl Lejos representative from DOST-SEI. Together with the group were the very supportive MTG parents such as Mrs. Bernadette Baniqued, Mrs. Helen Cua, Mrs. Elizabeth Ayroso, Mrs. Evelyn Cheng, Mrs. Felicidad Tan-co, and Mrs. Audrey Chan.

The achievements of these Filipino math wizards inspired the huge MTG family to say congratulations for the job best done. On the other hand, Dr. Simon Chua said, "accomplishment is easiest when we work the hardest". He emphasizes that focus and concentration during trainings are what composed the essential ingredients to reaching the goal in any math contest. Of course, Dr. Chua also commends the parent and school support plus the kids' innate math skills as valuable contribution in the success of Philippine teams in the recently concluded IWYMIC '09.

Copyright 2008 Mathematics Trainers' Guild, Philippines. All Rights Reserved
Powered by Cid Systems Solution Services