Warning: Use of undefined constant mtg_auto_load - assumed 'mtg_auto_load' (this will throw an Error in a future version of PHP) in /home/mtgphilo/public_html/apanel/class/loader.php on line 5
MTG Philippines

Warning: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable in /home/mtgphilo/public_html/news.php on line 25



Feb 22, 2011

A total of 62 high schools, clustered in two, all from Metro Manila and nearby provinces participated in the 3rd SHARP-MTG Math Trail and Problem Solving Competition conducted simultaneously at St. Stephen High School in Manila (cluster A) and St. Francis of Assisi College in Las Piñas (Cluster B) last February 19, 2011.

Math trail is an exploratory activity which allows participants to relate math to the real world. The trail takes them on a predetermined route with 6 stations or checkpoints where they will have to gather data to complete mathematical tasks. The contest aims at providing students an in-depth experience to learn mathematics in a collaborative manner; developing their speed and precision in data gathering, measurement and following instructions; and improving their higher order thinking skills through games and problem solving.

No less than the Department of Education through the NCR OIC Regional Director, Dr. Elena R. Ruiz, in a Regional Letter No. 60 had encouraged schools division superintendents to support this activity. 

The tough competition made the 4-member team from 25 schools as qualifiers for the Final Round which will be held on March 6, 2011, 12 noon at SM North EDSA in Quezon City. The final encounter will give the teams more mind-boggling problems to solve and more stations/checkpoints to visit to gather essential data.

The success of the 3rd SHARP-MTG Math Trail and Problem Solving Competition was attributed to the following sponsors Sharp Calculators, Collins International Trading Corporation, SM, SM North EDSA,  Dowell, Gardenia Bakeries, Sun Cellular & Uni Writing Instrument.

The qualifiers are as follow:

Cluster A

  1. Philippine Science High School (Main Campus)
    2. Saint Paul College of Pasig
    3. Grace Christian College (Quezon City)
    4. Saint Jude Catholic College (Manila)
    5. Saint Pedro Poveda College
    6. Valenzuela City Science High School
    7. Ateneo de Manila High School
    8. Saint Mary's College of Quezon City
    9. Xavier School
    10. Philippine Cultural College-Caloocan
    11. Philippine Institute of Quezon City
    12. Philippine Cultural College-Manila

Cluster B

  1. Colegio San Agustin (Binan, Laguna)
    2. Elizabeth Seton School (Las Piñas)
    3. Makati Science High School
    4. Saint Aphonsus Liguori Integrated School (Cavite)
    5. Las Pinas East National High School
    6. Pasay Science High School
    7. Saint Francis of Assisi College (Bacoor, Cavite)
    8. Saint Paul College of Paranaque
    9. Senator Renato Cayetano Memorial Sci & Tech. HS (Taguig)
    10. Canossa Academy of Calamba
    11. Bagumbayan National High School (Taguig)
    12. General Pio del Pilar National High School (Makati)
    13. First Asia Institute of Technology and Humanities (Batangas)

Copyright 2008 Mathematics Trainers' Guild, Philippines. All Rights Reserved
Powered by Cid Systems Solution Services