Warning: Use of undefined constant mtg_auto_load - assumed 'mtg_auto_load' (this will throw an Error in a future version of PHP) in /home/mtgphilo/public_html/apanel/class/loader.php on line 5
MTG Philippines

Warning: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable in /home/mtgphilo/public_html/news.php on line 25



Nov 07, 2015

The Philippines is placed second in the overall medal tally after the Filipino math and science wizards garner a total of 3 gold, 13 silver and 20 bronze medals in the recently concluded 12th International Mathematics and Science Olympiad (IMSO) for Primary School Students held in Asia Airport Hotel, Pathum Thani Province in Thailand on November 1 – 7, 2015.
The Philippines which comes next to Thailand sent 3 teams of 6 students each to participate in the Mathematics division and another 3 teams of 6 students each to join in the Science division.
The three gold medals in the mathematics category are courtesy of Dominic Lawrence R. Bermudez from Notre Dame of Greater Manila, who is also adjudged as Best in Exploration, Vanessa Ryanne G. Julio from Saint Jude Catholic School and Justin Teng Soon T. Khoofrom Learning Circle.
Winning silver medals in the math area are Shawn Darren S. Chua from MGC New Life Christian Academy; Lance Heinrich S. Lim from St. Jude Catholic School; John Angelo O. Oringo from Guinobatan West Central School; Annika Angela Mei B. Tamayo from Ateneo De Iloilo - Sta. Maria Catholic School; Frederick Ivan T. Tan from Xavier School; Filbert Ephraim S. Wu from MGC New Life Christian Academy. 
This year’s IMSO bronze medalists for mathematics subject are Jodi Marcia DB. Arcadio from Notre Dame of Greater Manila; Hannah Denise B. Bacomo from De La Salle University Integrated School S&T Complex; Alexis Miguel M. Cañedo from Agusan Del Sur Pilot Laboratory School; Andrei Lenard R. Chan from Zamboanga Chong Hua High School; Raphael Dylan T. Dalida from St. Mary's Academy Pasay City; Nathan Meyer Q. Dy from St. John's Institute; Jairus Carle C. Isaguirre from St. Paul College of Ilocos Sur; Jasper Jay C. Prestoza from Rizal Elementary School and Jeremie Keon T. Torralba from Ateneo De Manila Grade School. 
As for the Science category, seven of the 39 silver medals have been awarded to the Philippines courtesy of Mehriell Ellice Ang of St. Jude Catholic School; John Paul Noel Beltran of Butuan City SPED Center; Marco Erano Dumale of De La Salle University Integrated School; Enrico Rolando Martinez of Xavier School; Jeraldine Miranda of SPED - Integrated School For Exceptional Children - Iloilo City; Chiara Bernadette Tan-Gatue of St. Jude Catholic School and Seth Marchen Trompeta of Colegio San Agustin – Biñan.
Eleven Filipino participants joining the Science category hook a bronze medal each, they are: Anika Bettina Bonifacio of Mother Goose Special School System Inc.; Denise Sophia Carles of Catbalogan I SPED Center, Samar; Noel Stephen Dequito of Xavier School Nuvali; Raldz Loren Jocson of Philippine Normal University - VCTL, Iloilo City; Celine Amanda Montales of Colegio San Agustin-Makati; Erin Christen Noceda of Special Education Center For The Gifted; Mi Jung Pak of Colegio San Agustin – Biñan; Allyana Coleen Reyes of Falcon School; Hailie Saavedra of City Central School, Cagayan de Oro City; Angela Marie Rillera and Jose Miguel Palitog of San Beda College Alabang.
The 12th IMSO drew 370 participants from the following countries and territories: Cambodia, China, India, Indonesia, Iran, Kazakhstan, Korea, Laos, Lebanon, Malaysia, Mongolia, Nepal, Philippines, Singapore, South Africa, Sri Lanka, Taiwan, Tajikistan, Vietnam and the host country Thailand. 
The entire Philippine delegation was headed by the team leader Dr. Isidro Aguilar; deputy team leader Mr. Manuel Kotah; the Math tutors, Mr. Renard Chua and Kelish Villegas; Science tutors Prof. Elvis Chua and Mr. Condrad ChuaProf. Arvie Ubarro played a significant role as juror in the Science category while the following Dr. Eduardo Dela Cruz Jr., Dr. Enerio Sagusay, Mr. Roberto Degolacion and Mr. Aldwin Sahirul presented their research papers during the International Academic Conference.

Copyright 2008 Mathematics Trainers' Guild, Philippines. All Rights Reserved
Powered by Cid Systems Solution Services