Warning: Use of undefined constant mtg_auto_load - assumed 'mtg_auto_load' (this will throw an Error in a future version of PHP) in /home/mtgphilo/public_html/apanel/class/loader.php on line 5
MTG Philippines

Warning: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable in /home/mtgphilo/public_html/news.php on line 25



Jul 31, 2018



GOOD news. The Philippine team has beaten Asian mathematics powerhouses China and Taiwan to emerge as overall champion in the Singapore International Math Contest (IMC-SG), held July 27 to 30 in the "Lion City."
     The young Filipino numbers aces from public and private elementary and high schools nationwide won a total of 197 medals: 27 golds, 54 silvers and 116 bronzes in the 14-nation contest.
     The math wizards are wards of the non-government Mathematics Trainers' Guild Phils. (MTG), which promotes excellence in math education.
     China bagged 25 gold medals while Taiwan took home 13 golds to place second and third, followed by Vietnam and Indonesia with 12 and 10 golds, respectively.
     The other participating countries were Australia, Cambodia, Hong Kong, India, Iran, Malaysia, South Korea, Thailand and host Singapore.
     The Philippines' gold medals came courtesy of Paul Sim and Zion Skye Earl Carmelo Uy, both from Ateneo de Manila; Matt Gerard Navarro and Joshua Milan from De La Salle-Santiago Zobel; Richwynn Cedric Ong and Shaun Jacob Chua from Xavier School; Patrick Castro, Christian Josef Dimaunahan and Joseph Benedict Gatmen, all from Makati Science High School; James Martin Young and Rush Anthony Alfonso from Philippine Science High School-Western Visayas; Raphael Adrian Galang from Manila Science High School; Rafael Mikhail Quizon from Grace Christian College; Miguel Justino Ladion from Paref Springdale School; Feivel Pulusan from Hope Christian High School; Paul Vincent Navarro from Stonyhurst Southville International School; Norton Fumera II from Emmanuel Christian School; Gabriel James Valdez from Merryland Montessori and High School; Matthew Charles Carpio from University of Baguio Science High School; Cassidy Kyler Tan from Davao Christian High School; Rickson Caleb Tan from MGC New Life Christian High School; Lance Chrysler de Jesus from Caloocan Science and Technical High School; Ronniel Vincent Roberto from Peninsula School; Jed Riel Balatan from Taguig Science High School; Christian Louie Cornista from San Pablo City Science High School; Roenz Joshlee Timbol from Maliwalo National High School, and Filbert Ephraim Wu from Victory Christian International School, also the top scorer among all Grade 7 contest participants.
     The silver medalists were Rohan Gerald Herrera from Ateneo de Manila; Charlize Andrea Tan from Immaculate Conception Academy; Ralph Benedicdt Bolanos from Kalalake Elementary School; Elijah Peter Velasco from Philippine Science High School-SMC; Rafael Oliveros from San Antonio National High School; Mikkel Bennett Sy from Pace Academy;  Ellison Matthew Ang from St. Jude Catholic School; Io Aristotle Nikolai Calica from Balanga Elementary School; Fhershaima Jamalul from Zamboanga Chong Hua High School and Kaye Monique Cua from Pangasinan Universal Institute, among others.
    The bronze medalists included Mariel Tamaray from De La Salle University Integrated School; Johannes Rafael Dancel from Pasig Catholic College; Jonel Edward Rebutiaco from Ligao National High School; Rex Reventar from Xavier School; Rafael Gabriel Tamises from Tubungan Central Elementary School; Miguel Cayetano from Tuguegarao West Central School; Cyrus Nolasco from Dasmarinas  Central School; Kenneth Seco from Philippine Cultural College; Eric Fabian Mendez from Ateneo de Naga, and Mateo Campos from St. John's Institute, among others.
     Dr. Isidro Aguilar, MTG President, cited the team members for giving this year's SIMC their best shots and "inspiring their fellow students, including potential math wizards."

Copyright 2008 Mathematics Trainers' Guild, Philippines. All Rights Reserved
Powered by Cid Systems Solution Services