Warning: Use of undefined constant mtg_auto_load - assumed 'mtg_auto_load' (this will throw an Error in a future version of PHP) in /home/mtgphilo/public_html/apanel/class/loader.php on line 5
MTG Philippines

Warning: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable in /home/mtgphilo/public_html/news.php on line 25



Dec 09, 2018

The Philippine teams ended the year with a round of applause as the beaming winners of gold, silver and bronze medals in the individual contest appeared on stage with their arms raised aloft in a victorious stance at the prize presentation of the recently concluded 8th International Youth Mathematicians Convention (IYMC) held at the City Montessori School in Lucknow, India on December 1 – 7, 2018.

A gold medal each was adjudged to six Filipino math wizards for their major triumph in the individual contest, they were Maria Leianna J. Yutig, Grade 9 from Philippine Science High School - Southern Mindanao Campus; Victor Dominic D. Naraval, Grade 12 from BHC Educational Institution, Inc; Hans Benedict B. Gaw Te, Grade 11 from Bacolod Tay Tung High School; Patrick Niño B. Policarpio, Grade 11 from Far Eastern University Senior High School; Cristina Beatrice C. Mallari and Cristina Bianca C. Mallari, Grade 12 from St. Paul College – Pasig.

Proudly clasping their silver medals were Bernabe T. Dy III, Grade 9 from Pangasinan Universal Institute; Wally H. Santos, Grade 12 from Senator Renato Compañero Cayetano Memorial Science and Technology High School; Sanielle Meliz H. Ong, Grade 12 from St. John’s Institute; Sam Robertson D. Pelegrino, Grade 11, from Upper Bicutan National High School; Mar Anderson F. Princer, Grade 12 from De La Salle Medical and Health Sciences Institute; Madelyn Esther C. Cruz and Margaret Esther C. Cruz, Grade 12 from Philippine Science High School - Main Campus.

Another good performance from seven Filipino math aces earning them a bronze medal each were Kyle Xander F. Co, Grade 9 from Bethany Christian School; Ronn Derick A. Simbol, Grade 10 from BHC Educational Institution, Inc.; Victor Ruben B. Yu and John Orbien P. Realuyo, Grade 10 from University of Santo Tomas – Legazpi; Azzedine H. Abrencillo, Grade 11 from International School for Better Beginnings; Iris R. Salangad, Grade 11 from San Beda College Alabang and Ma. Erica Therese G. Santos, Grade 11 from Senator Renato Compañero Cayetano Memorial Science and Technology High School.

Philippine team A composed of Naraval and Cruz’s sisters, the champion in the team and math quiz contests; and 2nd runner-up in the relay contest came off their first runner-up finish overall in the senior division.

Philippine team C composed of Ong and the Mallari sisters and Philippine team F composed of Pelegrino, Princer and Kaizer Albert C. De Asis, grade 12 from Quezon City Christian Academy were also declared the champion in the team competition.

Ending up winners in the team contest (junior category) were PH team B (Dy, Realuyo and Yutig)– 1st runner-up; PH team C (Marc Ferdinand L. Calica, Grade 10 from University of Santos Tomas Junior High School – Manila and Merlin Reign S. Sualibios, Grade 10 from Elizabeth Seton School – South)– 1st runner-up; and PH team A (Co, Simbol and Yu).– 2nd runner-up in the team and math quiz contests, and 1st runner-up in the relay contest.

Winners from the Philippines in the team contest senior division were PH team (Gaw Te, Policarpio and Santos)– 1st runner-up; and PH team D(Abrencillo, Paul Henry A. Gumarin, Grade 11 from Taguig Science High School and Jaime Angelo C. Nery, Grade 11 from GCF- International Christian School) – 2nd runner-up

The 8th IYMC drew around 500 participants from 12 countries: Bangladesh, Bhutan, Brazil, India, Indonesia, Nepal, Russia, South Africa, Sri Lanka, Thailand, United Arab Emirates and the Philippines.

Inspiring the Filipino participants and delegates with her presence was Ms. Lilia T. Habacon, the Executive Director of the Philippine Science High School System, DOST who was the guest of honor representing the Philippine government in the 8th IYMC.

Copyright 2008 Mathematics Trainers' Guild, Philippines. All Rights Reserved
Powered by Cid Systems Solution Services