Warning: Use of undefined constant mtg_auto_load - assumed 'mtg_auto_load' (this will throw an Error in a future version of PHP) in /home/mtgphilo/public_html/apanel/class/loader.php on line 5
MTG Philippines

Warning: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable in /home/mtgphilo/public_html/news.php on line 25



Sep 30, 2019

By Jerry E. Esplanada
BY garnering perfect scores, five young Filipino math wizards have aced the 2019 Australian Mathematics Competition (AMC).
     This was announced last week by the University of Canberra-based Australian Mathematics Trust (AMT), which has been conducting the annual contest since 1976.
     The perfect scorers, all wards of the non-government Mathematics Trainers' Guild Phils. (MTG), are Nicholas Marcus Lua, a Grade 7 student of St. Jude Catholic School; Dillion Chan, Grade 8, UNO High School; Issam Wang, Grade 11, Manila Science High School; Vincent dela Cruz, Grade 11, Valenzuela City School of Mathematics and Science; and Eion Nikolai Chua, Grade 11, International School Manila.
      Dr. Simon Chua, MTG co-founder and COO, commended the numbers aces, noting Filipino students "continue to do very well in the AMC," adding "they made not only their respective families and schools proud but also the country."
     Six other students also made it to the list of AMC top scorers by getting Prize Awards, according to Chua. He named them as Jose Ma. Bernardo II from Ateneo de Manila Junior High School;Jesse Alexander Mancao from Don Bosco Technical Institute-Tarlac; Shaun Lawrence Poh-leung from St. Stephen's High School; Kody Briones from Emmanuel Christian School;  Jerome Austin Te from Jubilee Christian Academy, and Rickson Tan from MGC New Life Christian Academy.
     Meanwhile, 77 other students are the recipients of AMC High Distinction Certificates for being in the Top 3 percent of their year groups.
     They include Darren Angeloi Uy from Ateneo de Manila Elementary School; Jacob Bernas from De La Salle Santiago Zobel; Samantha Isabelle Bondoc from Jesus is Lord Colleges Foundation; Kai Deniella Hong from PACE Academy; Janelle Caryl Ng from Grace Christian College; Mike Henry Lin from Leyte Progressive High School; Elijah Markus Valencia from Xavier School-San Juan; Erik Nathan Estiva from Xavier School-Nuvali; Miguel Justine Ladion from PAREF Springdale; Matt Justin Sy from St. Jude Catholic School; Reuben Lopez from De La Salle-Lipa City; Anika Gayle Tan from Zamboanga Chong Hua High School; Michael Gerard Tongson from Stonyhurst Southville International School-Batangas City; Rovie Gabriel dela Cruz from Pasig Catholic College; Caitlin Lopingco from St. John's Institute; John David Magnaye from Philippine Science High School-Main; Audrey Charlize San Gabriel from Our Lady of the Holy Rosary School; Cassidy Kyler Tan from Davao Christian High School; Sean Jang from Elizabeth Seton-South, and Andres Rico Gonzales from De La Salle University Integrated School, among others.
     This year, more than 400,000 students worldwide -- including over 3,000 from the Philippines -- competed in the AMC. The MTG administered the correspondence-type contest on Aug. 8.
     In 1976, the AMT limited the first AMC to Australian students.  Two years later, students from New Zealand were allowed to join the contest.
     Since 2005, the AMC has spread to 40 countries, including the Philippines.
     The contest paper consists of 30 multiple choice questions, which are ordered in increasing difficulty. In the AMC, students are given 75 minutes to solve the problems, which cover arithmetic, algebra, geometry and problem solving.

Copyright 2008 Mathematics Trainers' Guild, Philippines. All Rights Reserved
Powered by Cid Systems Solution Services